facebook twitter Google Plus rss



Estonian Educational System consists on:

• Pre-School 
• Basic School
• Secondary School

Pre-school concerns children between 3 and 6 years of age. It is not compulsory. School activities include playing, physical education and creative labs. The School year begins in September and ends in June.

Compulsory Basic School begins at the age of 7 and continues until the conclusion of the 9-year basic education or until the age of 18. It includes the primary level, which is of 6 years’ duration,  and the secondary level I, that is of 3 years’ duration.

Students can keep on studying at University or at Professional School for Biennial Specialization.
In Estonia there are 613 secondary schools. 503 are meant for Estonian speaking citizens, 80 for Russian speaking people and there are 26 bilingual Institutes. There are 11 Universities, of which 5 are private.

In Tallinn there are different Universities: Tallinn University, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonian Agricultural University, Estonian Music Academy and Estonian Academy of Arts.

Estonian Government creates a relationship between students and companies, by organizing internships.

Tallinn University - Tallinna Ulikool - was established in 2005 as the result of a merger
of Tallinn Pedagogical University and the Estonian Academic Library. The new university center is an internationally renowned research center and maintains inter-university agreements with universities in Europe, US and Japan. Tallinn University has a deep European vocation. It aims at creating a new governing class through a series of Masters such as Europeanization of Governance and Politics one.

Tallinn University programs derives from the collaboration with Finnish University of Tampere.

In Estonia there are a lot of opportunities for foreign students, not only in Tallinn.
Every year the University of Tartu promotes Estonian language courses for foreign people.
For more information: www.ut.ee/english

It also organizes an interesting program focused on Baltic Studies, which is led in English and has a bisemestral duration.


The Erasmus Programme is a European Union student exchange programme, offering students the possibility of spending a study period in a University of another European country. The period varies from at least 3 months to an academic year.

In Estonia this project is supported by the University of Tartu.

For more information: www.murst.it/socrates/erasmus



Tallinn, the capital of the Republic of Estonia, is a city with distinctly medieval features.


Tartu is a university town crossed by the Emajogi River located in the south-eastern part of the country.


The city owes its name to the homonymous river running through it before flooding in the Baltic Sea.


Capital of Finland, Helsinki is a city of small, strategically placed between East and West.